Bayonet serial number

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
sbkittrell

Bayonet serial number

Post by sbkittrell »

I just noticed that the serial number on the bayonet matches the rest of the SN's on my 1939 Tula, which I thought was pretty cool. Is this a common thing? I would have thought that equipment such as bayonets would have been issued separately from the rifles, but then again I am new to this and my knowledge level is way low. I also found that the bayonet is a huge pain to get on and off, even though I oiled it. Maybe I'm installing it wrong. I pushed it onto the barrel, pushed in the spring loaded plate and rotated it so the sights were clear and locked into the slot. It was next to impossible to get off, so I wrapped it in cloth and used a wrench to rotate it back so I could work it off. (Don't worry I didn't force it or damage it) Any tricks or techniques I should be aware of?
Some days it's not even worth gnawing through the restraints.
Darryl
Sniper Expert
Sniper Expert

Re: Bayonet serial number

Post by Darryl »

Mosin refurmishment 101

These Mosins that are coming out right now are what are called "refurb'd". After WWII the soviets (at the time) decided to rework these rifles and store them just in case they might need them from say an invasion from Europe or the US. There thoughts were they would work as a secondary rifles for the common non military people. So in the 50's and in the 60's they set out to do this.