"Submitting for the Fall Rifle Contest"

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
kagero43

"Submitting for the Fall Rifle Contest"

Post by kagero43 »

I would like to submit this rifle for the Fall Rifle Contest, thank you:

Mosin-Nagant 91/30 PU Sniper
TULA Arsenal dated 1944

BACKGROUND
I purchased this rifle in May 2012 upon spotting it on a gun rack at a sporting goods store in cottage country about 2 hours from where I live (it is my first Mosin Nagant). While I am not an expert in Mosin Nagants (let alone MS snipers), I knew immediately that it was unique by the age, wear, and overall patina on both the gun, scope mount, and scope. I then noticed it had no import, refurbish, or electric pencil markings whatsoever - just a original but replaced PU scope done by a war-time arsenal. After some quick internet searching for info on Mosin snipers to ensure some comfort level before purchasing, I ended up trading a few things for it and paying about $600 out of pocket. The condition of the rifle when purchased was very dirty with a bore that was not cleaned in a very very long time. Loose screws needed tightening but otherwise in usable condition. No one at the the store knows anything about this gun. So far from feedback on the forums, it is an original issue WW2 Mosin Nagant sniper rifle. There is speculation that it could be one of the early guns to arrive either as a veteran bring back or imported prior to the fall of the iron curtain and before shipments of post-war re-arsenal WW2 pieces.